Wild Heart

Adventure is not far off.

 

This week, I’m reading The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis. He writes a series of letters written from a Demon to his nephew, in order to teach the young nephew how to sabotage human lives. I’ve thought of this concept often. Satan desires to sabotage you. Sometimes, I’ve been keenly aware of Satan’s existence. I’ve understood, at times, that he has made it his purpose to kill, steal, and destroy. His desire is to watch you suffer. I guess I’ve always assumed that once you learn something, you can’t unlearn it. However, I don’t think that’s the case anymore. No matter how aware I am of his plot, somehow my memory of it always slips away. 

 

Satan is the father of lies. He is clever. Cunning. Tricky. You can’t prepare for his attacks on your own. I’ve heard it said before that his most powerful asset is tricking humans into thinking that he doesn’t exist. I agree. No matter how aware I have been of his intent, somehow, I always tend to unlearn it. 

 

I’ve found my purpose embedded in the words of Jesus. I love picturing him whisper these words often, praying to his dad.

“Our Father, who art in Heaven, hallowed be thy Name.

Thy Kingdom come, Thy will be done, on Earth as it is in Heaven.

Give us this day our daily bread, and forgive us our trespasses,

as we forgive those who have trespassed against us.

And Lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil

for thine is the Kingdom, the power, and the glory forever.”

In the Lord’s prayer there is one line specifically that speaks to me. I know that I was placed on this very earth – in this very moment – for the very purpose of these words. I think it is the purpose of all humankind. We begin to understand it the more we begin to know Jesus. He prays,

“Thy Kingdom come, Thy will be done, on Earth as it is in Heaven.”

It is simple. Earth as it is in Heaven. Make Earth more like Heaven.  

 

Satan attempts to destroy your knowledge and understanding of this profound truth. You were made to change the world. You were put here to redeem it. You were put here to know Jesus, to be Jesus, and to make the world more like Jesus. In doing so, you make the world more like Heaven.

 

Yet somehow, so very often, we drift to sleep. I find myself trapped in routine. I’m imprisoned by comfort. I am a slave of sleep, and I am a lover of things that vanish. Instead of a keen awareness of what Satan is doing, I forget he even exists as I go about my day. I go to class, I study, I take exams. I have good intentions to make good grades and have a good time. But sometimes, I just don’t buy that this is all that life has to offer. That’s silly, because in this moment, I’m the happiest I have ever been.

 

I believe that we are imprisoned by our own selves. Likewise, we are the only ones that can choose freedom.  Jesus is freedom. He is the Way, the Truth, and the Life. Don’t let the Truth be stolen from you. Don’t let Life be stolen from you. Don’t let Satan lull you to sleep.

 

“Awake, sleeper,
And arise from the dead,
And Christ will shine on you.”

Ephesians 5:14

 

Life does not have to be monotonous. You don’t have to be a slave to comfort. Adventure awaits, and your heart was made for it. Not only that, adventure was made for your heart.

 

Do not settle for good. Great and wonderful things are just over the horizon. Jesus is waiting. His backpack is packed, and he can’t wait to go with you. Trust me, it will be wild. 

Leave a Reply

